Author Topic: Which boot?  (Read 7196 times)

Chris_663

Which boot?
« on: 13:56:41, 09/09/19 »
Hi all new to the forums and glad to be here  :) . I would say I'm no expert in Hiking, I never got into the different terminologies and I don't know a lot of popular hiking routes that others probably know. I am however very active and I've been hiking over various parts of the UK for many years, so I'd say I'm not a total total beginner. Ordinarily I research things carefully before I buy and this time around I was looking for a little help with boots.

I've been using a really poor quality pair of karrimor boots which leave my feet in pieces for the last few years, but now I want to get into hiking more seriously the time has come to buy a new pair and I want to make sure I get something that is going to last me and provide great comfort too.

The plan is I'll be going on hikes every other weekend, I'm based close to the Yorkshire three peaks which I imagine I'll be doing a lot. Most of the terrain I would say will be fairly even, however I'd like something that will be good for scrambling over harsh terrain as I plan to run routes like scafell pike again, once i get back into it full time.

These are the ones I have been looking at so far:

Mammut Ayako High GTX
Salomon Quest 4d 3 GTX
Mountain Warehouse Excalibur Leather Boots

(Sorry can't post links yet)

The mammuts I have felt in store, feel super sturdy and overall seem like very high quality, although maybe a little overkill for standard UK hill walking? The salomons have been recommended by a friend but I haven't felt them yet and the MW leather ones are a reasonable price currently on sale and leather, but I've read online MW gear is poor quality. I was wondering if anyone else had any recommendations too as I'm still pretty early in the decision making process.

Any help much appreciated

Many Thanks

WhitstableDave

• Veteran Member
Re: Which boot?
« Reply #1 on: 15:56:51, 09/09/19 »