Author Topic: Crib Goch and snowdon Horse Shoe, Dec2nd  (Read 3450 times)

BuzyG

• Veteran Member
Crib Goch and snowdon Horse Shoe, Dec2nd
« on: 19:32:07, 23/11/17 »
Well I have the fine company of my son for a weekend.  Not something that happens often since he left home. We have the Hostel Booked at Pen Y Pass and baring dangerous weather, will be heading up Snowdon for the fist time 2nd / 3rd of Dec.  We both have a reasonable degree of Scrambling skills and hill walking.

The important question now is the best route.

I would love to walk the Horseshoe route, but looking at Crib Goch, on Google Earth, it does not look like a pick nick.

Does any one know if there is any snow up there yet?  I have micro spikes for my boots, but as I spend my usual weekends walking the SW moors and Tors, I have very little experience using them. 

Open to advise and route suggestions.

« Last Edit: 19:44:49, 23/11/17 by BuzyG »

Owen

• Veteran Member
Re: Crib Goch and snowdon Horse Dhoe, Dec2nd
« Reply #1 on: 20:17:32, 23/11/17 »
Whether or not there's snow up high now means nothing as to whether or not it will be there next weekend. At the moment it looks like heavy rain and floods but if it turns dry and cold for the next week the floods should hopefully have gone. Crib Goch ridge in winter conditions is really getting into climbing territory, I think it's generally considered a grade II winter climb. I've done the ridge in such conditions a few time and really I'd say ice axe and crampons would definitely be needed and ropes and harnesses could quite likely be useful as well.