Author Topic: Hi,newbie here  (Read 6454 times)

Rossco

Hi,newbie here
« on: 18:30:05, 08/06/08 »
Hi guys.

Newbie here so 1st of all i'd just like 2 say hello.

Me and 2 mates(we're all novices) are planning to do Snowdon next sunday.Does anybody have any advice as what gear to take with us.Also what is the best time to get to Snowdon,as i hear the car park at Llanberris gets busy pretty quickly?We're travelling from Staffordshire,so it'll roughly be a 2 1/2 hr drive.

Thanks 

Ridge

• Veteran Member
Re: Hi,newbie here
« Reply #1 on: 10:50:12, 09/06/08 »
Map and compass and the ability to use them, though where you are going you can not go too far wrong
Boots
Food and liquid - I was going to say lots of water if it is a day like today but it looks like it will only be 8C
Waterproofs
Fleece
Small first aid kit
Rucksack to put all your stuff in

That should be plenty for a clear day in June.

Snowman

« Reply #2 on: 12:18:50, 09/06/08 »
Map and compass and the ability to use them, though where you are going you can not go too far wrong

Actually if you're doing the Llanberis route, you could probably do it with your eyes shut.    Just listen to the crowd around you.

Have you thought of one of the more interesting routes?   You might have less trouble parking, although the car park at Pen-y-pas also tends to get full quite quickly.   I've done Rhyd Ddu which is relatively quiet.    Watkin path - don't know - anyone?

S.

Ridge

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 13:34:38, 09/06/08 »
Actually if you're doing the Llanberis route, you could probably do it with your eyes shut.    Just listen to the crowd around you.

This is, unfortunately*, true but I could not bring myself to write even the shortest equipment list without putting map and compass at the top.

*Totally off topic but, having typed 'unfortunately' I'm not really sure it is. Certainly anyone there has as much right as I do to walk up hills and if I enjoy it how can I moan if others do too.

Snowman