Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 3174 times)

White Horse Walker

• Veteran Member
« on: 11:35:32, 23/10/08 »
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this forum, found the link on Walking Di's excellent blog. I have lived in Wiltshire for 13 years and am a big fan of our white horses, living a short walk from one of them.

If anyone wants any advice on Walking in this county, let me know and I'll do my best to help.
~
Sue

vertigo girl

Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: 11:40:50, 23/10/08 »
Hi and welcome to the forum.

I live in the North East of England and we too have a White Horse.

Regards

Carole

kirbstones

« Reply #2 on: 11:49:05, 23/10/08 »
Hi WHW

Welcome to the forum. I'm off to Dorset this weekend.  Know any good cliff walks down there?  3-5 miles, suitable for kids.
Phil
www.lakeland-walks.co.uk - guided walking in the Lake District and beyond.
www.windermere-way.co.uk - a walk around England's largest lake.

White Horse Walker

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 11:55:55, 23/10/08 »
Hi and welcome to the forum.

I live in the North East of England and we too have a White Horse.

Regards

Carole

Thanks Carole. Cleadon Hills? Never been there, but looked it up! I quote:

"Cleadon Hills white horse, Tyne and Wear
OS grid reference: NZ 393 645
This small horse, 2 metres high by 3 metres wide, painted on a rock face with tar and limewash, is one of only four white horses in Britain to face right. It is on Cleadon Hills south of South Shields, and until post-war housing estates were built could be seen from much of South Shields. There are at least five conflicting accounts of its origin, one of which suggests it might have been created in the 1840s. The first reference to it dates from 1887."

Our Devizes white horse also faces right.
~
Sue

White Horse Walker

• Veteran Member
« Reply #4 on: 12:00:54, 23/10/08 »
Hi WHW

Welcome to the forum. I'm off to Dorset this weekend.  Know any good cliff walks down there?  3-5 miles, suitable for kids.