Author Topic: A device to help the put on bags.  (Read 2913 times)

nS321

A device to help the put on bags.
« on: 16:48:32, 16/09/17 »
Hi,
I am a design engineering student, and i indent to design and make a device to help older/elderly walkers put on and take off bags whilst outdoors. The device has the aim to ensure walking easier and more enticing for older/elderly walkers. I am currently brainstorming ideas, and i am in need of feedback for these ideas, and would therefore welcome any feedback on the idea, and also future designs and ideas. Thanks for your help in advance!
Neil.

DevonDave

• Veteran Member
Re: A device to help the put on bags.
« Reply #1 on: 16:59:33, 16/09/17 »
Hi Neil and welcome to the forum.  I think you may be trying to solve a problem that doesn't exist.  I am in my 70's and never have any problem putting my bag on, and have never met any other older walkers who have had difficulty doing so.  If they were so infirm that they had difficulty putting a bag on, they probably wouldn't be walking anyway!

Penygadair

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 15:52:25, 17/09/17 »
I'll second Devon Dave's comments.  But, I could use a device to help me put socks on while standing on one leg.  :D

DevonDave

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 16:24:21, 17/09/17 »
I'll second Devon Dave's comments.  But, I could use a device to help me put socks on while standing on one leg.  :D

:D :D :D

thomasdevon

« Reply #4 on: 16:30:09, 17/09/17 »
Hi Neil - This might be a good idea. I actually pulled my back muscles on one side a little bit a few weeks ago when I carelessly pulled my rucksack off the ground and straight onto my shoulder in a hurry. Hurt a little for 24 hours.

Any device would need to be portable and light. Could it be something that utilises walking / trekking poles?

ninthace

• Veteran Member
« Reply #5 on: 18:08:52, 17/09/17 »