Author Topic: Walking boots/shoes  (Read 775 times)

Shelley.lockyer

Walking boots/shoes
« on: 11:53:33, 04/10/18 »
Hi I’m quite new to hiking and purchased a pair of walking boots last year and every time I wear them I get blisters so on the look out for the best footwear which doesn’t give blister.
I do have sensitive feet my running trainers.
(3 different pairs) also give me blisters
I don’t mind the cost long as there worth it
Any recommendations please would be appreciated

gunwharfman

• Veteran Member
Re: Walking boots/shoes
« Reply #1 on: 13:35:37, 04/10/18 »
A couple of ideas to try out. For example, wear one thin pair of socks and a thicker pair at the same time, or tape up your tender areas before you even start to walk. I always tape my little toes before I start, I've learned by experience that if I'm going to have a problem my little toes will be damaged first. No blisters, but on my last long hike my little toe nails fell off when I got home.

My most 'difficult' day is usually day three, that's when I usually become aware if my feet are going to cause me problems or not. Not blisters but various, aches, pains and strains which can sometimes start, often in my case with no apparent reason. These days I often get a few hours when my toes seem to lock, most uncomfortable. By day 4 or 5, with a bit of TLC and just just walking through the problems I usually have no further difficulties, hopefully!

When I'm hiking I always take particular care of my feet, when I stop, I take my boots off to 'air, clean and dry' them, I give them a massage and I change my socks twice a day or at least turn them inside out, at least until the next stop. When I get to a site I find it refreshing to walk around with bare feet for a while, if the grass is nice of course, not keen on stinging nettles or any prickly leaves. I think what I do all helps a bit, I no longer suffer as I used to.