Author Topic: Miniature Lake District Route maps  (Read 4687 times)

blrovers

Miniature Lake District Route maps
« on: 17:37:38, 15/09/08 »
I'm a newbie to the site and I'm impressed with what I've seen so far and the amount of information that there is here.

I've recently started walking in The Lake District and always take a OS 1:50 000 Landranger Map with me which can be a little awkward in high winds or rain!!

I've seen people out and about on the fells with miniature route maps contained in what look like document holders around the walkers neck. Obviously these seem both waterproof and much easier to glance at quickly for reference. Are these available to buy anywhere does anyone know? Thanks.

mike knipe

• Veteran Member
Re: Miniature Lake District Route maps
« Reply #1 on: 17:46:18, 15/09/08 »
They're probably just standard 1:25000 maps folded in a map case - eg something like an Ortleib case....

These are grand for keeping your maps dry but there are some disadvantages:

e.g. - They can wrap around your neck or slap ypu in the face in high winds
You can't always see the grid reference numbers (if you're using GPS, this can be quite important)
and....
If your walk is a long one, sometimes you might have to refold your map a few times, which is a faff in a wind....

But I use a waterproof map case most of the time..

Or (!) they could be using dowloads from websites....  If they are, they really should be using an OS map as well.

1;50 k maps are ok, but there's much more detail on the 1:25 k, including things like field boundaries, which aren't on 1:50k.  Sometimes there can be too much detail, though and this can be confusing...
Some kind of happiness is measured out in miles

See the blog!  www.northernpies.blogspot.com

blrovers

« Reply #2 on: 17:51:58, 15/09/08 »
They're probably just standard 1:25000 maps folded in a map case - eg something like an Ortleib case....

These are grand for keeping your maps dry but there are some disadvantages: