Author Topic: hard skin/help with boots  (Read 4845 times)

den9112

hard skin/help with boots
« on: 16:03:59, 28/08/06 »
hi, new on site and i am looking for some advice . i have been walking now for about 6 months . i usually do about 5/10 miles at a nice pace . i have never been troubled with sore heels before . this weekend i did a 15 mile walk mainly flat and after about 10 miles my heels were hurting on both feet it felt like blisters but it was not .i had to stop and take my boots of and check and someone told me i had hard skin on my heels which was causing this . before i go to a chiropodist and spend loads of money i was hoping i could get some advice as to wether it could be caused by my boots/socks has i have never had a problem on short walks . any help or advice would be greatfully appreciated , thanks

allrounder

Re: hard skin/help with boots
« Reply #1 on: 18:28:51, 25/09/06 »
hi there, firstly wear 2 pairs of socks, thin inner, thicker outer....

soak feet in surgical spirit for an hour at a time, this will harden feet up on heels....

if prob still persists, put real sheeps wool down socks, you'll find it on fences.....

i have very hard skin all over my feet, it doesnt cause blisters or sores, it helps not to get em!

Jekins

« Reply #2 on: 09:43:39, 29/09/06 »
hi there, firstly wear 2 pairs of socks, thin inner, thicker outer....

soak feet in surgical spirit for an hour at a time, this will harden feet up on heels....

if prob still persists, put real sheeps wool down socks, you'll find it on fences.....

i have very hard skin all over my feet, it doesnt cause blisters or sores, it helps not to get em!

soking teh feet works altjhough i just wipe it on reqgularly haven't had a blister since and just done 20 miles.

luke

howardfernlover

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 11:51:06, 03/10/06 »