Author Topic: OS Maps and Devives  (Read 1417 times)

G4rymw

OS Maps and Devives
« on: 10:06:06, 27/03/18 »
Hi,not well established with the tech gps and online maps so looking for a bit of advice,here goes

I have an OS subscription for a year with all the routing and maps available to view upload etc,when I upload one via gpx it goes straight into Garmin Basecamp I have on my Mac,now my question is could I then upload that from there into a Garmin device or card ,I couldn’t use in my app on phone due to no signal on my walk as I wanted to test it out,also for example a Garmin 64s is available for £230ish but you can get it with full 1/50k mapping for £299,is it better saving the £60, as I’ve got OS can I then use that onto to it or is it not that straight forward,other devices eg Satmap or other Garmin same question,
Still testing out the OS so not up to speed on all of it and gps devices,information much appreciated thanks

sussamb

• Veteran Member
Re: OS Maps and Devives
« Reply #1 on: 11:09:39, 27/03/18 »
You can certainly send a gpx file from BaseCamp to your Garmin device, that is what it's really designed for, but Garmins cannot use OS maps other than those purchased through Garmin.  I'm not in favour of the OS maps supplied by Garmin, as they are raster maps.  Without going into too much technical stuff they are simply copies of paper maps, so the further in you zoom you more blurred they become.  There are however freely available and free OSM (Open Street Maps) available which are vector maps, these stay pin sharp as you zoom in and I've used these types of maps for many years while walking.
Where there's a will ...

G4rymw

« Reply #2 on: 11:55:03, 27/03/18 »
Ah thanks, didn’t know Garmin wouldn’t upload OS maps,so really my OS subscription now is only for my phone and desktop unless that works with Satmap or is that just the same,seen TalkyToaster maps so they would be better for Garmin, would you be able to upload onto them via usb and device