Author Topic: new to the forum and new to walking  (Read 4892 times)

squidgystar

new to the forum and new to walking
« on: 23:16:11, 24/09/07 »
<waves>  hiya!  I'm an all-round newbie... walked Snowdon in the summer as we were randomly driving past one day and thought it would be a good idea... thoroughly enjoyed it, bought myself some walking boots and convinced a mate to drag me up Cadair Idris last weekend... still buzzing from it and wanting to get more involved!

I don't care about the weather and though I lack experience, I'm reasonably fit, running and swimming regularly... I'm 100% hopeless with a map though and I don't really know anyone willing to show me the ropes or tag along for the ride.

Figured I would join up here in the hope of finding some like minded individuals who may be willing to let me tag along some time!

(I can only find rambling clubs round here and I was hoping for something a little more meaty!)

O0
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in one pretty, well preserved piece, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming WOW, what a ride!

walkinggirluk

• Veteran Member
Re: new to the forum and new to walking
« Reply #1 on: 23:40:08, 24/09/07 »
Hi there squidgystar!!

Welcome to the forum room, on tagging along with people. It depends on how far your welling to travel am sure there's  people on here that you can tag along with. Have you tried walking groups a round Wales or Scotland. you could get a navigation book or a navigation course as am doing one for a winter skills just for winter time on the pricey side as the range from I think don't quote me on this . A round £150-300 pounds depending on what you what.  We stayed in the summit shelter Cadair Idris over night which was cool you could hear the rock falling of the top.
peace and tranquillity in the countryside. clean your rubbish up after you  respect it.

clean it bin it

darksky