Author Topic: West Highland Way  (Read 6958 times)

batfink21

West Highland Way
« on: 13:18:40, 19/05/06 »
I've just returned from a walk on the West Highland Way - highly recommended! Lots of mountains, lochs, wildlife, etc.

Also, the route passes by a lot of Munros on the way. Take a few extra days (8 or 9) and 'bag' some while you're up there.

Photos and information on my website:
http://www.westhighlandway.org.uk [nofollow]

Chris

• Administrator
Re: West Highland Way
« Reply #1 on: 21:44:44, 23/05/06 »
Thats a great website, batfink. Are you a web designer or something?

Well done on completing the route. What was the most memorable part?
And what would you do differently if you did it again?

batfink21

« Reply #2 on: 12:10:51, 24/05/06 »
Hi Chris,

Thanks for your comments. Yes I am a graphic designer, I created the site to test out some new blogging software we're thinking of using at work.

I think the most memorable part was probably the walk over Rannoch Moor, rounding a corner and being confronted by the amazing Munro, Buachaille Etive Mor - possibly the most beautiful mountain I've ever seen. As we walked down past the mountain we were buzzed by Swedish fighter jets training in the valley, flying well below the summits!

No plans to walk the West Highland Way again, but I'm planning to go back up to Scotland to climb some Munros in August and hoping to get out to Corsica next year to walk the GR20.

If I did do the WHW again, I'd definately aim for doing a very fast and light 3/4 day trip.

walker1

« Reply #3 on: 12:57:42, 05/06/06 »
Hi batfink,

I am doing the WHW in 2 weeks time, i cannot decide whether to take my boots or to wear trail shoes. Would you recommend boots because of the terrain?

Your website is great,  it is good to read about other peoples experiences.  Well done on camping out, i am too much of a woose to camp so it will be bunkhouses for us!

batfink21

« Reply #4 on: 13:52:50, 05/06/06 »
Hi Walker,