Author Topic: Wild Camping  (Read 8455 times)

daniel22

Wild Camping
« on: 23:02:51, 01/07/20 »
Hi everyone,
A friend and I are hoping to do a walk over a couple of days and camp out. I was googling wild camping and I saw it said there aren’t many places in the UK you are allowed to wild camp? Is this the case?

We’d be looking in the north east, around Durham kind of way. Preferably somewhere foresty - I like being under the tress :) And where I wouldn’t hear cars or other modern civilisation-type noise. Does anyone have any suggestions? I’d appreciate any recommendations!

In terms of the walk, I was thinking nothing majorly strenuous since I’m relatively new at this. Maybe 10 miles a day to make it 20 miles total?

Thanks all :)
Daniel

gunwharfman

• Veteran Member
Re: Wild Camping
« Reply #1 on: 13:30:36, 02/07/20 »
When I hike and if I'm in the wrong place at the end of the day, if I have to wild camp I will do it, law or no law. My favoured way of doing it is to be discrete, I like to have something at my back like a rock, or a fence if in a field, (I prefer empty fields) and do tend to look at the right-angled corners of fields if that choice exists. I've sometimes camped in the angle between a wall or fence if an open five bar gate has been jammed open and it's obvious that it's never closed. I'm also partial to sleeping on wooden footbridges in bad weather, (did this twice on the Two Moors Way) and on odd bits of farm equipment, flatbed trailers are pretty good. I'm not a wood camping fan, neither am I a river bank camper. I made the mistake of doing this once (at Alston) and in the morning I was overwhelmed with millions of biting little flies!

daniel22

« Reply #2 on: 13:35:57, 02/07/20 »
Thanks gunwharfman...some tips there I'd not have considered! I will stay away from the water, the midgies usually swarm me at the best of times haha.

vghikers

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 14:59:37, 02/07/20 »