Author Topic: New to Hill walking .Any suggestions ?  (Read 4935 times)

vish_shan

New to Hill walking .Any suggestions ?
« on: 23:47:53, 25/01/09 »
Hello all,

I am new to U.K and never done Hill walking. I am planning to go down to Snowdonia for about 3-5 days in  February  and planning to do some walks .Being a newbie and not doing any hill walking, I need some help and guidance from the experienced walkers over here. I am trying to gather as much information as i can from the internet ,but still would like to get some suggestions. Is February a right time for me to start.  Can i get some affordable hill walking courses available in snowdonia which deals mainly with navigation and safety. Thanks in advance.Hope to get more info from all.

Regards,
Vish.

Matthew Millen

Re: New to Hill walking .Any suggestions ?
« Reply #1 on: 09:17:46, 26/01/09 »
It depends a bit on your gear and fitness but you are definitely making things hard for yourself. To go to Snowdonia in February you will need a good set of walking boots and very good quality waterproofs at a minimum.

I will leave others who may know about courses you can go on but it is definitely a good place to test navigation skills!

I'm tempted to say wait for fair weather and start in an easier area of the country because you will be able to get away with much cheaper gear and making the odd navigation mistake won't be as potentially serious... on the other hand my fist proper hill walking experience was in Snowdonia and it was so great it got me hooked.

It might be worth looking into the Youth Hostels, they might offer walks/courses and a place to stay at the same time.

http://www.yha.org.uk/ [nofollow]

Matthew
http://www.matthewmillen.com/ [nofollow] - My walking and photo blog

Ian s

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 10:02:26, 26/01/09 »