Author Topic: Choosing footwear  (Read 20965 times)

Phil32

Choosing footwear
« on: 21:53:56, 20/01/15 »
Hi folks

I've just joined and said hi on the newbie board and figure now is the time to ask my most pressing question...

How do i go about choosing footwear??

I'm new to the hiking game and my aspiration is to do a trail hike, camping over a few days as I move. This would mean a backpack and preferably some mountainous terrain. I cant help but feel this question is a can of worms?? All advice and tips appreciated!

altirando

• Veteran Member
Re: Choosing footwear
« Reply #1 on: 23:13:02, 20/01/15 »
I am afraid you will get a lot of advice - but not necessarily everyone will agree - so you might be more confused than before and wish you hadn't asked!  We all have our own approach, likes and dislikes.

Lazar

« Reply #2 on: 01:27:34, 21/01/15 »
The only advise i would give is to go for an out and out boot maker i have meindl's and a pair of Hanwag's.

pauldawes

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 06:34:30, 21/01/15 »
First set a max budget for boots you're happy to pay...bearing in mind its most important part of your kit...the one that if wrong will make practically all your walking miserable.

Beyond that...I'd say find a good shop near you. (One that has qualified boot/ shoe fitters, a wide range of footwear, a walking slope, and the time and enthusiasm to spend as long as it takes to identify sort of walking you're doing and send time helping you try as many boots as it takes.)

Then make your choice primarily on how comfortable boot feels...your instant gut reaction on trying boot on and walking in it should be "Wow, that's really comfortable". Do not fall for line that "it will bed in with use"...most modern boots don't, not really.

It can still go wrong after all that...but doing that nudges odds in your favour. Seriously don't buy a set of boots via internet because some "oracle" tells you they are a good make and a bargain.

happyhiker

• Veteran Member