Author Topic: American Architect Seeking A Two-day Yorkshire Dales "Immersion"  (Read 3289 times)

WalkerArchitect

I am an architect and artist from America, traveling with my daughter August 21-24. 
We will have only three nights, with two days of walking: I want to make the most of it!  I want to see the land of my mother's birth.
We'd like to do our walk in the Yorkshire Dales, and pack in as much variety as possible in our short time - a full immersion in this region.  I think that my daughter could do a maximum of about 14 miles per day.  We would love to see cultivated areas [you do that a lot more nicely than we do here!], villages, perhaps wilder areas, and certainly some heights.  
If at all possible, it would be just excellent if we could stay at old places - we don't really have those here in America.  Farmhouses OK.  I am in pursuit of beauty.
Suggestions?  Show me what you know!
Thanks.

One F in Foreigner

• Veteran Member
Welcome to the Forum.  :)

You are going to be spoiled for choice. But my recommendation - and I'm biased cos I live there - is to immerse yourself in and around the limestone landscapes of Malham, Settle and the 3 Peaks of Yorkshire (Pen y Ghent, Whernside and Ingleborough). They will pretty much fit the bill for you.

Have a look here for more info http://yorkshiredales.org.uk/  whcih covers the whole of the National Park area and not just the area mentioned above.

If are interested in my suggestion, let me know and I'll sort out a couple or so ideas for walks.

Wherever you do decide to stay in the Dales - enjoy the visit.
I prefer the folly of enthusiasm to the indifference of wisdom. (Anatole France)

epocian