Author Topic: yorks moors best areas  (Read 5427 times)

colliecorner

• Veteran Member
yorks moors best areas
« on: 21:49:53, 27/07/09 »
researching my hols for next year and hoping to visit the moors,never been before..

now i'm thinking of the pickering area are there any good walks in that area ??
i'm a novice walker but fairly fit

so if anyone can recommend a area /walks /camp sites if possible  O0

garyr

• Veteran Member
Re: yorks moors best areas
« Reply #1 on: 08:14:34, 28/07/09 »
Pickering is a good area, we've used this cmapsite before ..... http://www.forestholidays.co.uk/camping_and_caravanning/our_sites__locations/england/spiers_house.aspx
There's loads of good walking around the Dalby Froest, then there's the Hole of Horcum and the White Horse walk at Sutton Bank.

Gary ....
http://www.mywainwrights.co.uk

walking-books

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 10:49:38, 28/07/09 »
researching my hols for next year and hoping to visit the moors,never been before..

now i'm thinking of the pickering area are there any good walks in that area ??
i'm a novice walker but fairly fit

so if anyone can recommend a area /walks /camp sites if possible  O0

Pickering is a good base for some great walking in the NY Moors. Taking the A169 from the town up to Goathland and across to Egton Bridge, onto Danby, Castleton and down to Rosedale Abbey, Hutton le Hole and back to Pickering will give you endless opportunties for great walks.
Mike

www.walking-books.com
Books, guides and maps on Britain's best scenic walks

Come and have a chat on Twitter - walkingbookscom

Bill T

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 14:49:38, 23/08/09 »
If based in Pickering I would get yourself an all day train ticket and plan walks based on the stations, I seem to recall that Newton le Dale offers some good opportunities, you can then head north and perhaps pick up the train again at Goathland.  It offers a lovely mix of moor walking and 1950's steam train travel.
Dirger

Resident Lyke Wake Bore