Author Topic: Memory foam boots  (Read 3762 times)

Steelystan

Memory foam boots
« on: 11:26:48, 03/09/08 »
Owing to a recent wet feet experience, I plan to get a new pair of boots, and relegate my current ones to backup when weather is certain to be dryer than a torrent.

I fancy the Meindl Vakuum, here, http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/mens-footwear/4033157410404 which have a Memory Foam insole system.  I get the concept, but has anyone got experience of using this thing?

SS
178/214.

stevieboy378

Re: Memory foam boots
« Reply #1 on: 12:01:11, 03/09/08 »
I wear Meindl GTX Burma's, which have the MFS, and they're just superb - Basically you lace them up at the start of your walk, then again after half an hour or so - once the foam gets warm it moulds to the shape of your ankles, and the laces need to be re-tightened . . .
I've been wearing Meindl's for 10 years or more now, and I've never had any problems with any of the 3 or 4 pairs I've owned in that time - They're comfortable straight from the box, need no breaking in, and perform well - great pieces of kit . . . .
"Weaseling out of things is important to learn. It's what separates us from the animals ! . . .
. . . .except the weasels." - Homer Simpson

Steve Wilcox

Steelystan

« Reply #2 on: 14:19:05, 03/09/08 »
I wear Meindl GTX Burma's, which have the MFS, and they're just superb - Basically you lace them up at the start of your walk, then again after half an hour or so - once the foam gets warm it moulds to the shape of your ankles, and the laces need to be re-tightened . . .
I've been wearing Meindl's for 10 years or more now, and I've never had any problems with any of the 3 or 4 pairs I've owned in that time - They're comfortable straight from the box, need no breaking in, and perform well - great pieces of kit . . . .

That's good 'cos I just bought 'em on the way to my office. :)
178/214.

springsoles

« Reply #3 on: 13:29:12, 11/09/08 »