Author Topic: Trail names  (Read 1691 times)

dank86

Trail names
« on: 16:57:39, 23/05/18 »
I know it's tradition to adopt a trail name when doing thru hikes in the US but not something I've come across in the UK, I know our trails aren't as long as some but think it would be kind of cool to adopt a hiking name.

Anyone here adopt a trail name?

I'd probably be lord vaper

Owen

• Veteran Member
Re: Trail names
« Reply #1 on: 18:42:19, 23/05/18 »
Why? I've been using my name for the past 60 years, I'm used to it, people know me by it. Only reason for as alias is your up to no good.

dank86

« Reply #2 on: 18:47:25, 23/05/18 »
It's a bit of harmless fun on the trail, like I said in the US it's a tradition to adopt a trail name, people even sign the log books with their trail names, they aren't up to no good they're just having a bit of fun while hiking, if it's not for you that's fair enough

RogerA

« Reply #3 on: 16:46:09, 24/05/18 »
Why? I've been using my name for the past 60 years, I'm used to it, people know me by it. Only reason for as alias is your up to no good.
In a way I agree - I dont see the need for it nor any benefit, however people do adopt aliases for other reasons that being up to no good - just look at all our names on this forum ... erm Owen ... well perhaps not you :) or me :)
Sounds like a bit of fun thats commonplace for our American cousins that because we're not used to it seems bizarre this side of the pond.

Roger

Mel

• Veteran Member
« Reply #4 on: 18:16:20, 24/05/18 »

At least with a trail name you get to choose it yourself.... unlike a nickname which your (so called) mates give you  ;D

Life doesn't have to be serious all the time... honestly!

dank86

« Reply #5 on: 18:25:43, 24/05/18 »
Mel sometimes you pick your trail name sometimes you get given it 😜

I vape hence lord vaper lol

Mel

• Veteran Member
« Reply #6 on: 19:21:30, 24/05/18 »
Ahhh, a kind of "calling" trail name.  oooh we're going all Native American Indian now  :D