Author Topic: Injuries post salkantay trek  (Read 1053 times)

Ronin83

Injuries post salkantay trek
« on: 16:11:54, 22/04/19 »
Hope this doesnt just sound like moaning, but its useful to hear advice and experience from people in the know...

Finished the salkantay trek a few days ago and I have 2 issues.

My left knee is destroyed. Day 2 included an 800m ascent over 7km(not a problem, just hard work, but enjoyed it) and 1800m descent(this is what started the pain). I've never done such a long descent before. 2 more days of hiking mostly down after this, the last day basically on one leg and 2 sticks, finished the knee off.
Pain started on the outside edge as it had done before on long walks, but moved to the inside on top of the knee cap. Pain is quite bad and sometimes shoots. Never been this bad before. Of course I'll see the doc, but I've tried what they will advise already(anti inflammatories, RICE etc). Most concerning is that ibruproiband naproxen did literally nothing.

Secondly I developed and pain on the left loin, upper back which is worse when carrying my backpack. The pack I was carrying I've used in England and is only a 25l Berghaus. Never had the problem before. The muscle pain turned into feeling like a sharp knife or pin stabbing me. Very weird.

So should I just chalk this up as to be expected from such a harsh 4/5 day hike or is there advice anyone could give?

Apart from these things I felt great, couldve kept walking more if it weren't for the knee. Zero blisters or bruised toes. I met people who had run marathons who said it was really tough, fitness wise I was fine, but could never run a marathon  ;D

Ridge

• Veteran Member
Re: Injuries post salkantay trek
« Reply #1 on: 17:07:23, 22/04/19 »
Just to be clear I have no medical knowledge or training but I wonder if the problem with your back is because you were walking strangely but to your knee.

Owen

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 17:16:43, 22/04/19 »