Author Topic: Boots  (Read 3314 times)

Villain1973uk

Boots
« on: 13:05:53, 16/09/17 »
Hi all, I'm new to the hobby of walking and going to wales soon and me and my family are going on a few walks, we hope to make it a hobby and was wondering if anyone can recommend me some cheap waterproof boots that are good (asking a lot) we won't be going up mountains but rocky paths etc, I have to buy 3 pairs that's why I need to keep the price as low as possible.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks.

gunwharfman

• Veteran Member
Re: Boots
« Reply #1 on: 13:17:14, 16/09/17 »
Loads out there, all prices. As regards 'waterproof', that in itself might present you with a problem? I've bought 'waterproof' boots in the past, one pair leaked from the word go, another leaked after a few miles, others have never leaked. My personal view is and I'm not even suggesting that I'm correct, but from personal experience, your best chance at purchasing 'waterproof' ones, is to only go for full leather type versions.

The full leather ones I have purchased, first from Brasher, now taken over by Berghaus have never leaked, the highly stitched and patterned fashionable looking ones that I bought, have! That's my experience, I'm sure it may not be other peoples experience.

At present I wear a pair of Berghaus Superlight 2's and am very satisfied with them.

Villain1973uk

« Reply #2 on: 13:24:54, 16/09/17 »
Thanks for the reply..just had a look at them but unfortunately as I have to buy 3 pairs I can't afford that much, I'm hoping to spend about £150 on all 3 pairs!!!! I won't be going out when it's raining (fair weather walker) but perhaps early in the morning when the floor is wet etc.

gunwharfman

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 14:44:38, 16/09/17 »