Author Topic: Versatile boots  (Read 2716 times)

mkersyshull

Versatile boots
« on: 21:20:39, 14/01/18 »

Sorry if thing's I say seem silly, but I'm very new to this. I'm looking to get some boots that are as versatile as possible. I'm wanting to be able to go hiking in them, but also look good for a day of urban walking. I'm currently looking at the Merrell Sugarbush boots and wondered if anyone had any experience (or alternatives)?

Thank you

Steve922

Re: Versatile boots
« Reply #1 on: 22:34:24, 14/01/18 »
What made you look at that particular boot amongst the thousands of alternatives?  To me it looks particularly unsuitable for 'looking good around town' once its had a day in the mud!
« Last Edit: 22:38:55, 14/01/18 by Steve922 »

fernman

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 23:37:40, 14/01/18 »
My belief is that that you can get away with lightweight fabric boots which don't look too bad for 'about town' wear but it's a bit of a compromise because I don't regard then as being the best option for serious walking. It's a bit like mulipurpose tools, they're rarely as good as the ones made specifically for one particular job.

I speak as someone who wears boots as daily footwear by preference. My past ones have been relatively inexpensive fabric Hitecs while I currently wear Brasher Lithium GTX (no longer made) which are just coming to the end of their life. While they are OK for casual walks, no way would I dream of wearing them for a serious 5 or 10 miles hike, for which I wear 'solid' leather ones by Meindl.

You could wear the Hitec-type things from Milletts or Sports Direct for long walks but they won't be anything like as supportive and comfortable as proper purpose-made boots, and don't expect them to last more than a year, or two at the most.

pauldawes

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 08:57:40, 15/01/18 »