Author Topic: My first post  (Read 5244 times)

JamesTaylor

My first post
« on: 10:23:30, 17/08/08 »
Hello everybody! Ok so this is my first post, i'm a bit of a novice when it comes to walking/hiking but its something that really interests me.

Although only just twenty years old i have been on a couple of  holidays within the uk where me and the girlfriend spent most of our time walking/hiking. Our most recent trip was to snowdonia where we managed to make it 3/4 of the way up snowden but the weather got the best of us and my girlfriend made us resume back to the car, much to my dissapointment.

I really enjoy walking/hiking but my girlfriend and most of my friends don't share my passion, favouring staying in watching a film to being out in the open, lol.
Although i like leisurely strolls as much as the next guy i most enjoy deciding a challenging route/destination and trying to achieve this.
I live in northants but i am always willing to travel, i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions of trails/routes in the uk that are safe enough to attempt on my own but are at the same times quite challenging. Is there anything local to me that maybe someone could suggest?

Thanks for any suggestions, hopefully this will be the first post of many!

kirbstones

Re: My first post
« Reply #1 on: 11:11:24, 17/08/08 »
Hi James

Welcome to the forum.  Pretty much any route is 'safe' so long as you know what you're doing.  It's people the are not so safe … if you get my drift.  Snowdon is a bit of a biggie for a first effort so no shame in not getting to the top.