Author Topic: Taking a one-year old to Scotland - A few concerns...  (Read 2968 times)

SpartakBang!

Hi everyone - This is my first time on this forum - I'd appreciate a little advice....

My wife and I and are two kids (aged almost 14 and 15) were blessed with an unexpected addition to the family last August - little Archie will be one year old when we plan to visit Scotland for the first time this year - in fact he'll be celebrating his first birtday during our trip.

Pre-Archie, We have done quite a bit of walking in the South Downs (where we live), lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Peak District in the summer, and have never been bothered by midges.

We want to visit Skye and the Highlands this August and while I'm not too concerned with the four older members of the family all of whom can all take precautions (Deet, Citronella etc..) I am a little concerned by Archie's welfare.

So my question is ...

Given that we're committed to visitng Scotland - Can anyone recommend visually beautiful, serene places to spend two seperate weeks that are LESS likely to be ttractive to midges than Skye or the Westren Isles are?

OR ....  From what I understand, midges are more prevalent at dawn/dusk where (with a young child) we're more likely to be close to our Self Catering accomodation.  Is it sensible to book places that are NOT near (static) water - would this help?

Thanks all - Look forward to your comments !!!

ukmase

• Veteran Member
Re: Taking a one-year old to Scotland - A few concerns...
« Reply #1 on: 12:26:18, 10/01/08 »
Walk up high if possible where it is a bit windier. Midges cant fly in winds over 5mph. 8)

mike knipe

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 12:27:04, 10/01/08 »