Author Topic: Sketching on your walks  (Read 1124 times)

rural roamer

• Veteran Member
Sketching on your walks
« on: 12:23:36, 17/02/20 »
Does anyone do this? I’ve often thought about doing this as well as taking photos. Trouble is I can't draw or paint! I was useless at art at school many years ago and as for helping the kids, well they never bothered asking me. So I thought I might try a beginners class now I’m retired. But round here they’re all either painting or life drawing. I want to draw the landscape! Anyway I recently found an artist round here who does small halfday workshops and I’m going to one this afternoon on Drawing Skills. She knows I am a complete beginner so we will see! I’ll report back. My other half wants to know what he is meant to do if we’re out walking and I want to stop and sketch something though!

ninthace

• Veteran Member
Re: Sketching on your walks
« Reply #1 on: 12:34:17, 17/02/20 »
Good luck - I hope it works out for you.  The only things I can draw are my pension and a pint but I admire the ability some folk have.  It would not do for me though as I take my pictures internally.  I rarely even stop to take photographs, other than if I intend to publish my walk.  Then I may stop to take a "money shot" to go with the gpx file and description, usually just one per trip. 
Solvitur Ambulando

zuludog

« Reply #2 on: 12:34:43, 17/02/20 »
I suppose you could start by studying a few Wainwright's guides

gunwharfman

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 13:06:06, 17/02/20 »