Author Topic: Hygiene  (Read 2790 times)

daveyroids

Hygiene
« on: 00:39:00, 16/07/08 »
Hi I'm relatively new to hiking. I'm considering a 4 day wild camping/hiking trip in the lakes next month. This will be my fist attempt at this type of camping. I have gathered some very valuable gear information from trawling this site but the one at the top of my list has not yet been answered. What do I use to get a decent wash every evening?

Has anyone got any recommendations on what products I can use, preferably something that i can also get away with washing the odd item of clothing out if needed.

I was originally just going to take a bar of pure soap with me but I'm sure that there are better products out there.

mike knipe

• Veteran Member
Re: Hygiene
« Reply #1 on: 01:44:22, 16/07/08 »
I strongly suspect that most backpackers/wild campers dont wash much at all whilst out in the wild bits. (Its just a theory but its uncanny, for instance that given a normal westerly flow of light breezes, businesses in the east of SCotland always seem to know when the TGO challengers are getting close.....)
But  if you insist on not smelling like a yak herder's incontinent granny's favourite tights, you can get liquid soap from places like Millets - and its excellent for washing up with too. Keep the soap away from streams, though and pour the waste into small holes made in the ground specifically for the purpose using your special small hole making tool, or a tent peg.
The only really important thing is to have clean hands when handling food and cooking equipment - and as well as the soap, you can get alcohol-based gels (cuticura) from chemists. Its the same stuff as used in hospitals and is a handy accompaniment to a packet of tissues when away from your tent on a "mission"