Author Topic: Llyn (Lleyn) Peninsula coastal path info please  (Read 3145 times)

chrismen

Hi, I’m a newbie here, but lurked for a long time on OM.

I’m hoping to backpack the Llyn Peninsula coastal path once the weather improves. Looking at the maps, the northern section looks rather sparsely populated. Will I find many places for food supplies?

Chris

vghikers

• Veteran Member
Re: Llyn (Lleyn) Peninsula coastal path info please
« Reply #1 on: 12:39:47, 20/03/19 »
We backpacked a large proportion of the Lleyn path many years ago when its length was 53 miles, the new route is 84 miles.
You shouldn't need to restock supplies more than once or maybe twice. On the northern section there are grocery outlets in Clynnog-fawr, Nefyn and Aberdaron.

chrismen

« Reply #2 on: 13:10:43, 20/03/19 »
We backpacked a large proportion of the Lleyn path many years ago when its length was 53 miles, the new route is 84 miles.
You shouldn't need to restock supplies more than once or maybe twice. On the northern section there are grocery outlets in Clynnog-fawr, Nefyn and Aberdaron.
Thanks!
Trefor looks a reasonable size for a shop, and I’m hoping some of the campsites may have some essential items. And of course pubs :-)

Zizag

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 16:03:33, 24/03/19 »
I have a Llyn  Peninsula walk in Mind when the weather's warmer and the paths and trails dry out .
It's what I call the Triangle .
Pwllheli, Aberdaron , Nefyn.

joncombe

« Reply #4 on: 17:32:09, 24/03/19 »
I think only the stretch between Nefyn and Aberdaron will be a problem (there are shops in both these places). There is a beach shop and cafe at the beach at Porth Oer (Whistling Sands but it is seasonal and also may not open even during the season if the weather is poor.
Not sure about campsites having shops, best best is Google I'm afraid.
It's a beautiful area though and I'm sure you will enjoy it.