Author Topic: Mevagissey to Fowey  (Read 4561 times)

thorpey182

Mevagissey to Fowey
« on: 15:22:46, 27/06/18 »
Hi all,

I'm spending some time in Cornwall soon and I fancied walking the Coastal Path from Mevagissey to Fowey, and then back on the ferry. Is that feasible to do in a day? I've never done the Coastal Path before so not sure what to expect.

Thank you!

dittzzy

• Veteran Member
Re: Mevagissey to Fowey
« Reply #1 on: 21:58:37, 27/06/18 »
Hi Rich
I just had a quick look.  It looks about 15 ish miles, mebbe a little more. You would need to do a proper check the route to get a more accurate figure.   My experience of Cornwall's coastal paths is that they are very much up and down.  Nothing too severe,up 200 ft, down 100ft, then back up again.  Constant, and very tiring if it's hot.

If you are fit, like many members of this forum, I am sure this is doable.  I am not so fit, and if I was walking it, I would have to start early cos it would take me all day, and the ferry staff would probably have packed up and gone home by the time I got there. 

Hopefully another member of the forum knows this area better than I and can give you more info.

johhnyp

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 22:28:44, 27/06/18 »
 I would say your planned day is not too hard by SWCP standards and doable in a day (not sure about ferry times). The hardest work is at the start; to Charlestown. There are the usual ups and downs through fields and often stepped; so not too rocky. There are plenty of stopping points too eg Pentewan. It is not a remote section. You then follow golf courses and park type areas to Par, where there is a bit of an industrial landscape, but it is all pretty flat.
Beaches and then a slow climb to Polkerris follow. The up and down follows from here; mostly up to Gribben Head with good cliff views. It is then a nice undulating but generally downhill run along the estuary to Fowey with a significant suburban walk in at the end.