Author Topic: Pre-walk Eating Habits  (Read 7886 times)

Catbells

• Veteran Member
Pre-walk Eating Habits
« on: 13:53:43, 01/11/11 »
I was talking to my friend today who is fitness instructor, he says that before any strenuous exercise you need to feed your body with the correct food possibly weeks before you go ahead with what you doing, that along with the correct stretching exercises to prepare your muscles for the assault. 

What foods do you eat before a walk?
What if any pre-exercises do you do?
Catbells, a truly lovely walk

dittzzy

• Veteran Member
Re: Pre-walk Eating Habits
« Reply #1 on: 14:01:23, 01/11/11 »
Nothing and None.  I'm not good at eating early in the morning, and don't usually realise I'm starving until about half an hour into the walk. :-\

joester

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 14:03:23, 01/11/11 »
I will generally try and consume 6-8 cans of Stella Artois about 10 hours or so before.
About 2 hours before, I have a hash brown sandwich with plenty of HP sauce.

As far as stretching, buying the diesel to get to Snowdonia and back is always a stretch.

I hope this helps.
solvitur ambulando

Ridge

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 14:07:38, 01/11/11 »
If I'm walking from home then my usual cereal and coffee, if I'm staying somewhere then full English.

I don't do any pre-exercise and on the radio recently they were saying that 'warming up' has been proved to make no difference to performance or injury in all but the most 'explosive' of sports (sprints etc.)

WelshNeil

« Reply #4 on: 14:30:09, 01/11/11 »
A healthy diet is important but you do tend to miss the good things such as full fat coke and the occasional Mars(r) bar. Which i can enjoy every once in a while on a walk or after a long hard run.

You can take with you all the gear money can buy, but what's the point if you don't take a camera?

Photographs = Memories

Glyno

• Veteran Member
« Reply #5 on: 14:31:39, 01/11/11 »