Author Topic: Please suggest a good mid layer  (Read 1684 times)

Starkiwi26

Please suggest a good mid layer
« on: 11:03:45, 25/02/19 »
Dear fellow members,

I am relatively new in walking, just started last June, but I fell in love in walking since then, walk once/twice almost weekly (except winter January because my gear is not warm enough for winter walk) therefore I am investing in the walking gear now.
I am currently using below for walking:

Base layer
Men extra fine merino knit long sleeve shirt
This is a merino shirt from Uniqlo, £30, quite warm
and it is a long sleeve, so I didn't need to apply sun cream.

Mid layer
a Superdry hoodie (but it is thick but it is a cotton hoodie, so I need to buy a new one)
Please suggest me a good one.

Outer layer
The North Face Sangro jacket (Waterproof)
planning a GTX on my next purchase (welcome to recommend a good one also)

a) Appreciate fellow members could please comment on my gear above.
b) Suggestion for a good mid layer (need one now because my current one is a cotton hoodie, budget of <£100-£200 depending on quality.  )  
c) Suggestion for a better outer layer (for next purchase/wait for promotion)

Considering these gears will last for years, I would like to buy a better one (than having multiple average one)  
Many thanks.

zuludog

Re: Please suggest a good mid layer
« Reply #1 on: 11:46:39, 25/02/19 »
You have the basis for a decent & versatile selection of clothing. Here are my comments -

The merino shirt would be too hot for summer. Replace it as a base layer with some sort of thinner synthetic T shirt,  long or short sleeved as you wish. A cheap one is quite good enough

But keep the merino shirt as a first or thin mid layer. When it wears out get something in microfleece

Replace the hoodie with a medium fleece jacket, like Polartec 200. With a hood if you like, but I prefer a separate jacket & hat

Add a body warmer in fleece or thinnish synthetic quilting