Author Topic: What3words app for your location  (Read 4759 times)

lostme1

• Veteran Member
What3words app for your location
« on: 13:25:57, 15/08/19 »
Just seen this on the BBC web site https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-49319760
Does anyone know anything about it, supposedly used by some emergency services.
 I have never heard of it. Given that a number of emergency services only understand post codes and not the OS grid references or latitude and longitude which many outdoor users have as a means of pinpointing their location, what hope is there for this.
These boots are made for walking.... so long as the rest of my body agrees

vghikers

• Veteran Member
Re: What3words app for your location
« Reply #1 on: 14:10:51, 15/08/19 »
I'm aware of it, it's an interesting idea. It's really just an easy to remember equivalent of latitude/longitude and less error prone when communicating. I don't know how much advantage it would be in practice, I've no experience in these things.

You need to know your location: I currently don't have any location-aware device so it wouldn't help me. If you do have such a device, you can (presumably) just read off your GPS coordinates or, in the case of e.g. MRT, let them be read remotely. There is an app to convert to 3-word format, I guess its success depends on wide acceptance.

forgotmyoldpassword

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: 16:24:29, 15/08/19 »
It's useful and from a MR point of view, it's the difference in searching a huge forested area (like in that article) and having a precise location to go to is the difference between 40+ people spending 8 hours searching and 3 people getting there in 30 minutes and being able to render immediate care.  MR are able to find a precise location from your phone but only if you are actively co-operating to do so, cell phone triangulation doesn't give much of a precise area whatsoever, unfortunately, though it is better than nothing.