Author Topic: Y-Hub tents : MSR Hubba / Terra Nova Southern Cross  (Read 995 times)

weston.front

Hi - 

Does anyone have any experience of any of the MSR Y-Hub tents or either of the TN Southern Cross models to share?
Following the road less travelled : westonfront.wordpress.com

Birdman

• Veteran Member
Re: Y-Hub tents : MSR Hubba / Terra Nova Southern Cross
« Reply #1 on: 13:39:37, 14/01/21 »
I have no personal experience with MSR Hubba, but I have met several hikers that have one and they were all very happy with it. It is one that I would consider myself if I need a new dual skin tent, though I would always go for the 2-person version (Hubba Hubba).

I have no experience with the Terra Nova Southern Cross, but I have a Terra Nova Superlight Voyager. I like that tent for many reasons, but I find that Terra Nova has made some strange trade-offs to get the headline weight down. So that is something that I would check with any TN lightweight tent.
My travel and walking reports: https://www.hikingbirdman.com/

herbert tickle

« Reply #2 on: 14:36:40, 14/01/21 »
April and beefy use  MSR hubba hubba, MSR Elixir, and TN Southern Cross,
Check out their TRs

GnP

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 14:52:49, 14/01/21 »
April and beefy use  MSR hubba hubba, MSR Elixir, and TN Southern Cross,
Check out their TRs

Est tibi . ?  ^-^

A night under silnylon. Doesn't have the same ring to it.

April

• Veteran Member
« Reply #4 on: 22:09:38, 14/01/21 »
We have the 2 man MSR Hubba Hubba (and MSR Elixir 2) and a Southern Cross 2. Like all tents they have pros and cons. They are very different tents, the Southern Cross is a 4 season tent whereas the Hubba Hubba couldn't be called that but people do use them all year. Where and when do you want to use a tent? In all weathers?
Hate will never win

weston.front

« Reply #5 on: 20:30:20, 15/01/21 »
Hi April,