Author Topic: Total Newbie wanting help planning charity walk  (Read 767 times)

chris190vvti

Hi all, Hope I've found the right place to help me plan a 38 mile charity walk in May. I'll post more details later but basics are that 10 year ago i was treated for cancer at the age of 32, so to mark the anniversary I've decided to walk from my home to the hospital that treated me and back hopefully in approx 12 hours (time really doesn't matter but id like to do it in one day). I'm not a walker but am reasonably fit so is it possible? The route is flat and on pavement so its not really a pretty walk but that's  not really the point just want to raise some money for cancer research and the hospitals own charity.
Thanks in advance :)

gunwharfman

• Veteran Member
Re: Total Newbie wanting help planning charity walk
« Reply #1 on: 10:34:49, 30/12/16 »
When I walked the GR10 in France last year I also used the occasion to raise money for a Prostate Cancer charity. I used the 'justgiving' site which seemed to work well.

MikeW

« Reply #2 on: 11:32:41, 30/12/16 »
Start buying, or deciding if you already have, the kit you are going to use and using it.
You need to know for example that your boots (make sure you are wearing the same pair of socks you are going to wear) aren't going to give you a blister after 5 miles, Your waterproof coat really is waterproof etc.
Most people would make 3mph on fairly level tarmac. A fit, regular walker might make 4mph (but probably not after 30 miles) but you aren't covering any distance if you're sat down having a rest or eating lunch.
Download ViewRanger and have a practice with it. See how long your phone battery lasts while using it.

rural roamer

• Veteran Member
« Reply #3 on: 12:54:50, 30/12/16 »