Author Topic: Inexpensive breathable jacket  (Read 577 times)

Bman1

Inexpensive breathable jacket
« on: 21:50:39, 29/12/20 »
Hi Everyone,
newbie here so not sure if this should have gone in the Bargain thread, but thought it easier to find here.
Jacket is a Trespass DLX Oswalt jacket:

(amazon.co.uk/Oswalt-Waterproof-Removable-Underarm-Ventilation/dp/B010Q6XWHK/ref=asc_df_B010Q6XWH0/?tag=googshopuk-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=344340269007&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=7722432275372520593&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9045837&hvtargid=pla-716362288254&th=1&psc=1)

Now I know what you are thinking "Trespass?!", but the DLX is their top of range outdoor wear; I have owned all the top names and this compares with them for quality/finish. I bought one of these and am really impressed with it; spent 6 hrs walking in the Lakeland rain and a) it didn't leak, and b) I didn't melt/sweat.
Well specced jacket for the money with Trespass own version of Goretex. Has storm hood, storm flap and pit zips. Not an ultra lightweight so good when carrying a heavyish ruchsack.
Occasionally the funny sizes (S, XL) are even at a better price, so it might be worth looking at size/colour options.

For an idea of sizing, I like my jackets to fit and not flap. I am 38 chest, 5,10, slim build (72kg) and I took a small. I can fit the standard t-shirt and fleece underneath and still have moveability. I have even worn it with a standard down gilet underneath and it worked well; probably need to be one of the micro down if it was a fully sleeved jacket.
Any Q's just ask.

richardh1905

• Veteran Member
Re: Inexpensive breathable jacket
« Reply #1 on: 09:09:19, 30/12/20 »
No experience of Trespass gear, but the jacket looks as if it will do the job. I'm not a fan of removable hoods, though.
WildAboutWalking - Join me on my walks through the wilder parts of Britain

Ray-S

« Reply #2 on: 16:08:53, 31/12/20 »