Author Topic: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(  (Read 168 times)

Tam911

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« on: 15:43:00, 21/02/21 »
 :-[  Im beginning to think it is just us but my problem this week with my new Garmin Oregon is as follows, any help please :


So we set off on our walk following the magenta line on the correct route i have downloaded.  We stop for a break of about half hour and start off again.  No magenta line showing now ?? , luckily we know the route as im not confident enough yet as we keep running into problems!!!, anyway i get home plug the garmin into basecamp and our route appears and the line of which we walked.


...... So WHY was this not showing on our route  :-[ ?  Please believe me when i tell you we are relatively good with technology etc so to say this is becoming frustrating is an understatement  .


BR


Tilly

sussamb

  • Veteran Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
Re: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« Reply #1 on: 16:12:48, 21/02/21 »
What did you do when you stopped? Did you turn off your GPS or did you keep it running? Anything else you did?


Certainly if you didn't touch it when you stopped there is no reason I can think of that would stop the magenta line being displayed.
Where there's a will ...

jimbob

  • Veteran Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
Re: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« Reply #2 on: 16:50:15, 21/02/21 »
Don't know if this helps as I don't have an O700 but on other devices it is easy to reset a track by accident.

Does the O700 have a default " no movement" time.     
I.E. You haven't moved so you must be finished, I'll stop following the track and save the battery?

On my old Garmin it is too easy to zoom accidentally which also makes it look like the track has switched off. It took a bit for me to work that one out first time because mine has a tiny screen and was as far as I was concerned it was blank.


Too little, too late, too bad......

Slowcoach

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
Re: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« Reply #3 on: 19:07:56, 21/02/21 »
In track manager could the “ show on map” item be off? Also make sure the track colour is one that can be seen easily.
« Last Edit: 19:22:26, 21/02/21 by Slowcoach »
It's all uphill from here.

Tam911

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« Reply #4 on: 19:20:36, 21/02/21 »
Thank you all for your replies, I know we definitely didn't turn it off when we stopped :(


That is very interesting about the no movement default Jimbob,  i will have to investigate that in the numerous settings.


I will look again in the Track Manager, but sure we did this :(
[size=78%]
[/size]
[size=78%]Im questioning now why my Garmin [/size]couldn't[size=78%] be more like my [/size]iPhone[size=78%] with my GPX maps on there and why apple [/size]haven't[size=78%] invented something similar, although maps on the [/size]iPhone[size=78%] eats the battery within an hour , but each time we are out now and the Garmin fails i have to revert back to my phone [/size] :(   I am really wanting to give my Garmin the benefit of the doubt as the reviews are great but we have yet to experience the greatness.

sussamb

  • Veteran Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
Re: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« Reply #5 on: 19:59:14, 21/02/21 »
My Etrex is now nearly 9 years old and has never let me down so I really think it is unfamiliarity with your Oregon. Somehow you've exited the route while you were stopped. It will however, as you've found, still track you whether you're navigating a route or not.


One possibility, and it's unlikely, is that the first part of your route had 250 points in it, as that is the maximum possible that your Oregon will show. I made that mistake early on with a Garmin having sent a long route to my GPS from a mapping program. The route stopped being displayed with a few miles still to go  ;D  . Have a look at the route in BaseCamp and see how many points there are.


Incidentally I don't know of any Garmin that will switch off after it's been stationary for a period of time, so I don't believe that is the cause.
« Last Edit: 20:02:21, 21/02/21 by sussamb »
Where there's a will ...

Eyelet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« Reply #6 on: 20:37:17, 21/02/21 »
I agree with sussamb that the two GPSMAP devices I have used for a decade have been brilliant, but they do have a steep learning curve.

Was the magenta line that you were following a track or a route?

If it was a route (i.e. not a track) that you had loaded, if it disappears again you could look at the Active Route app to see if the route was still being navigated? If not, you could restart the navigation.

If it was a track (ie not routable) that you had loaded, then as Slowcoach has said, a quick check in the Track Manager will determine if it is still set to "Show on Map".

Your Garmin can be set to Auto Pause the track recording when stationary, but this shouldn't affect the display of the route or track on the map that you are following.

To sussamb's point, I think that while using any routing activity other than 'Direct', the Oregon is limited to 50 waypoints per route, so this is certainly worth checking.
« Last Edit: 20:40:31, 21/02/21 by Eyelet »

sussamb

  • Veteran Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7538
Re: Garmin Oregon 700 'Help' Me Again :(
« Reply #7 on: 06:47:04, 22/02/21 »
Yes, sorry, I'm so used to using the Direct activity as no routing activity takes me along the paths I want to go, and that's due to the map I use, that I didn't mention the 50 point limit if using an activity other than Direct. Having said that it's pretty nigh impossible to reach that 50 point limit using a routing activity on a short walk  :)
Where there's a will ...