Author Topic: Charity C2C  (Read 337 times)

JMCMF

Charity C2C
« on: 20:02:09, 16/03/21 »
Hello,

I'm planning a C2C walk in aid of charity. It's going to be an unusual route to take in some places of significance for me.
I plan to start in Whitehaven and go via Croglin, Lazonby, Bishop Auckland and then onto Tynemouth.
I'm new to this kind of walk and I'm slightly concerned about walking access along some of the roads.
I'll be camping / doing B&Bs, but hoping to do the former to maximise money for the charities.
I realise this is a bit of an opened ended request but I would appreciate some recommendations on suitable routes and possibly more important routes to avoid.
Places to stop / rest would be good, but realise recommendations are tricky in current circumstances.
I'd also like to know if there's a resource I can tap into that can talk through routes - it's tricky to do that longhand.
Thanks in anticipation.
JMCMF

richardh1905

• Veteran Member
Re: Charity C2C
« Reply #1 on: 21:18:58, 16/03/21 »
Welcome to the forum JMCMF  :)

The Weardale Way would fit in with your plans quite nicely once you get beyond Alston, and there is a bridleway over the hills between Croglin and the Alston valley, I suspect that that could be tough going: boggy and remote. EDIT - can't see any sign of this bridleway on satellite imagery - could be very tough going! Might be best to head SE to Renwick and go over Hartside to Alston. This will involve a couple of miles walking on the A686, but I don't think that it would be too bad.

From Whitehaven you could follow the Wainwright Coast to Coast walk for a while, before branching off to Keswick and taking the Cumbria Way past Skiddaw, then going down the lovely valley to Mosedale. From there a messy selection of minor roads to Lazonby and Croglin, before crossing over the fells to Alston.